By using this web site, you agree to all terms and conditions for acceptable use.

ServiceLedger KnowledgeBase Knowledgebase Home Page > ServiceLedger > Technical | Contact Us

Search the Knowledge Base Browse by Category

ServiceLedger provides this content as-is for self help support purposes. ServiceLedger assumes no liability for any steps you take based on the directions in our knowledge base, and assumes that you have the knowledge to determine whether a given step is appropriate for your situation. Certain solutions can affect third-party software that ServiceLedger relies on or integrates with; it is your responsibility to consult with the documentation or publishers of such third-party software to understand whether any changes suggested here will have negative effects on other applications.


(T0343) How Do I Turn Off Prompt To Assign Line Item To Tech When Posting Job

Would you like to...

Print this page
Email this to a friend

In ServiceLedger 2010, ServiceLedger introduced a new feature that allowed you to track technician revenue on a per line item basis on a job.  This feature was useful for customers that wanted to credit multiple line items to different techs on the same job.  On each line item of a job, the Technician drop-down box allowed a user to manually assign credit of the line item to a specific technician.  In most cases, it was left blank as users never took advantage of the feature.

In ServiceLedger 2013, ServiceLedger expanded on the feature by providing an automatic population of the technician field on each line item to support new technician reporting.  The feature ensures that the line item technician field is always populated with a catch at posting that will automatically populate the assigned-to technician to the job line items at time of posting.  By default, at time of posting, if the line item technician field is not populated, you will be prompted with a dialog box asking if you want to assign the line item to the assigned- to technician. 

Some customers have asked to turn off the prompt as it slows down the closing process, especially when doing batching.  You can turn off this prompt with the following option:

  1. Click on Company | Administration and click on the Global Preferences tab.
  2. Click Add to add a preference.
  3. For Option #, enter work_order.posting_assigns_item_resource.prompt
  4. For Value, enter 0.
  5. Click on any other row to save changes.
  6. Click Save & Close to close the Administration Window.

ServiceLedger will still assign line items to the assigned tech; however, it will no longer display the prompt.

You can also turn off the automatic assignment entirely by setting the 'work_order.posting_assigns_item_resource' option to zero.


Related Questions:

Attachments:

No attachments were found.


ServiceLedger KnowledgeBase Copyright © 2019 support.serviceledger.com
Powered by AcitveKB Knowledgebase Software